Looks can be deceiving….


I’ve made this meal various times before. This is not how it is supposed to look….

I see a squished alien. What so you see?

I cannot believe my time here is almost up! I’m trying to clean out the fridge before the move and I believe that last trip I made to the store was too much. I try to time it so that we have little left except condiments right before a move. The movers won’t pack liquids and anything left in the fridge, they’ll toss out if I don’t beat them to the cooler. So, I offered to bring the ingredients for our Wednesday meeting to help get rid of some of this food!

I’m trying to get away from packaged food which I explain in the Military Zero Waste blog, so I bought the fresh spinach instead of the frozen. Fresh has so much more water. When Michelle and I finished blending it in the food processor it looked more like a spinach milkshake. A runny one. This wasn’t my best result. It usually looks much more appetizing than this, but regardless, it was delicious. I slurped it up, leaving spinach on my chin, which Michelle refrained to tell me about.

When I went to the bathroom, I saw it in the mirror. “Were you not going to tell me about this?”
She laughed so hard, she rolled around on the couch. “I knew you’d find it eventually.”
I smiled at her.

“You do, however, have spinach in your teeth.”
Great.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Torticotti recipe taken from my ALL-TIME FAVORITE cookbook,Whole Grains for Busy People: Fast, Flavor-Packed Meals and More for Everyone by Lorna Sass.
You’ll need:
1 package 10 oz. frozen spinach, defrosted (I used fresh, made it a little too runny.)
2 cups reduced-fat ricotta cheese
3 tablespoons pesto
1/4 cup grated Romano cheese
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic (garlic powder may be substituted)
1/2 cup chopped hazelnuts or walnuts (you can toast them if you’d like)
1 cup pasta sauce with mushrooms

Squeeze excess liquid from spinach. Put spinach, ricotta, pesto, Romano cheese, vinegar, salt, and garlic in food processor. If you don’t have one, you can stir it by hand. Stir in hazelnuts.
Spread 3/4 cup of filling down the center of each tortilla, wrap it like a burrito and place it seam side down on plate. Spread 1/4 cup pasta sauce over the top of each. Makes 4 torticotti. Heat for a few minutes in microwave or 15-20 minutes on 375 degrees in oven, tented with foil. Garnish with Romano before serving.

Let us hear how it worked out for you!

About Jennifer

Environmentalist. Writer. Navy wife. Mama. Gardener. Crock-pot fanatic.
This entry was posted in Weekly meetings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Looks can be deceiving….

  1. alisonamazed says:

    Wow! That looks like a real sloppy dish – but I love the ingredients!

    • It’s supposed to be prettier. We made it look like a pizza! ha! It was because the spinach mix came out too runny. Maybe I’ll try it again and repost it so you can see what it’s SUPPOSED to look like. 🙂
      Alison, I would be flattered to do a guest post! You need it by when? Hmmm…..does it have to start with “Y”? Or it can be anything because it’s “your” food? And it needs to be vegetarian. I can do it! I’ll make it happen.

      • alisonamazed says:

        Hey Jen, that’s great! Both seeing what this dish is supposed to look like and that you’ll write a guest post. As it’s Y (Your food) you can write about whatever you want – if it happened to be a Y food as well, that would be amazing! It would be great to have it next week, but you’re moving next week aren’t you?

  2. alisonamazed says:

    I had this idea Jen that you might like to write a guest post – the letter Y for the food a-z. Y is for Your Food! But I guess you’re going to be way too busy next week – but if you’d like to do it anyway, let me know!

  3. Ena says:

    You’re so cute Jen. This was funny. I can’t wait to go visit you when I return to the states to taste all of your inventions. Lol

  4. Malinda says:

    This sounds wonderful, I’ll give it a go and let you know how mine turns out!

    • Really? That makes me so happy! The green spinach/ricotta/pesto mix is supposed to be thicker. You spread it down the center of the tortilla and then wrap it up like a burrito, pouring the tom. sauce with mushrooms over the top of that. It’s usually so pretty. I was disappointed in this one. But the crazy thing is, kids really like it. They have NO IDEA they’re eating spinach! You can’t really taste it. Please let me hear how yours turns out. Take a picture if you think about it. I want to see!

      • donna says:

        The spinach on the torticotti looked a little scary but you all sure did look cute while you were making it even if you had spinach on your chin

  5. Thanks mom. 🙂
    You mean, on my “chinny, chin, chin.” That’s what Matthew calls it. He claims he didn’t start it first but I’m pretty sure he did. Thanks for reading!!

  6. Alison, I’ll still be here next week. I responded on your email!

Leave a Reply

