A Good Photograph


Being a new blogger, I like to trawl around looking at other blog sites, asking questions, trying to learn. I found an amazing post — Lamb Vindaloo, Garlic Naan, and Indian Chai Tea from the We are Not Martha site. Deciding their site was a perfect example of what we could aspire to, I couldn’t wait to show Michelle. When she arrived back from Vegas, I drove over to her house.

The conversation ensued….

“I found this site…. they have the most amazing pictures,” I turned the computer so she could see.
“Oh my god. Those girls are so skinny.”
“Yeah, look at their arms.” (Michelle thinks her arms are fat in photos. I offer to crop them. I think I have a double chin. I delete all those.)

“They’re new bloggers?”
“They have to be,” I said. “Look how long their post is.”
“That post is way too long.”
“See, they’ve been friends since 2nd grade. Look how they went around town taking pictures in the city. How fun is that? It’s like when we take pictures at Virginia Beach.”
“Jennifer, they have a photographer,” she points at the bottom of the page.
“Oh. How long have they been doing this?” I click back to the main page. “Since 2008? What? They’ve been doing this since 2008? But look how long their post is.”
“That post has 73 comments.”
“Can you imagine having 73 comments?”
“Well, they work in marketing. That’s why. They know how to market their blog.”

We stopped and looked at one another.

“They have their own photographer.”
“How are we supposed to compete with that?”

I set up my camera to take our picture using the self timer. It took 10 seconds. Running and jumping onto our normal places on the couch, the red light beeped and beeped and beeped.

Who needs a photographer?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Jennifer

Environmentalist. Writer. Navy wife. Mama. Gardener. Crock-pot fanatic.
This entry was posted in Weekly meetings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A Good Photograph

  1. Malinda says:

    You both are hilarious!! It makes me want to live next to you and be your photographer! haha.

  2. I have tears from laughing. We take great photos! Hahahaha!

  3. Sues says:

    You girls are too funny!! We got a “ping” to our blog saying you linked to us, so I came over 🙂 We don’t really have our own photographer!!! Our friend took our photos on our about page and my finace took the ones on our Indian dinner post 🙂 Oh and our post was so long because it was part of a big competition where we had to cook a huge meal!

    But yes, we have been blogging since 2008 and cook all of our own food and take all our own photos 🙂 If you check out our posts from the start, you can see how far we’ve come! I used to take photos with a camera phone and neither of us really knew how to cook much at all 🙂

    Good luck with your blog!! I think your photos are awesome and it looks like you’re having so much fun (which is really the most important thing). Oh and by the way, my fiance lived in Virginia Beach for a few years! Thanks for reading our blog 🙂 🙂

    • Oh, I’m so glad you liked it! My hubby looked through it with me and said, “Maybe it was one of their husbands, or a friend?” Guess he was right! So, did you win the competition? The meal looked so professional. I especially liked that you put the mixer on the floor and that you were drinking wine, and that you’ve been friends FOREVER. I’m so flattered you came to talk to us and that I had the chance to “meet” you! We’ll be reading your stuff! It’s GREAT!
      (Jenn)

  4. YOu girls are too funny!

  5. Harnew says:

    Keep that sense of humor. It will get you 73 comments one day.

  6. That made me smile first thing this morning!

    And no, Michelle, you aren’t competitive AT ALL!!!! **snickers**

  7. Mark says:

    The picture were hilarious. You do NOT need professional help. (Err, well, You do NOT need professional help to improve your blog. Yeah, I think I’m pretty safe with that. 🙂 )

  8. Mark says:

    You want 74 comment? I can do that for you. 😀

  9. Mark says:

    I could “I like pie” you into the hundreds if you wanted.

    Bwahahahaha

  10. Ena says:

    This was funny and cute Jen. Thank you or sharing. I hope you had a great time.

  11. Jeanne C says:

    If you guys need some more pictures for your blog I am sure I can find some…. flattering pictures of Michelle from back in the day. You know, for posterity’s sake! Love the blog gals, looking good!

  12. alisonamazed says:

    Hilarious! Love the Happy New Year crowns!

  13. alisonamazed says:

    By the way – that’s why their arms are skinny, because they have a photographer who retouches their arms to make them look that way 🙂 and double chins come with being a writer, it’s from looking at the keyboard all the time!

    • ha!
      And there’s a story behind the Happy New Year crowns. It’s in the introduction post about how we met. No, it wasn’t on New Year! Being random though, is much more fun than not being random. I love random. Thanks for reading Alison! You rock. 🙂

Leave a Reply

