A Week in Vegas


The Sphinx and me in Vegas. Just hanging out.

A week in Vegas was just what the doctor ordered, but coming back and not having any of my writing finished has me in a bit of a tailspin. Don’t get me wrong – I am not complaining! But when you have a writing routine and you take time away it can be very difficult to get back on track.

I had a great time in Vegas – Saw the Titanic exhibit, the dolphin and tiger habitats, saw the ‘pirate show’ at Treasure Island, the exploding volcano at The Mirage, participated in a television screening of a new television show, did the C.S.I.~ The Experience and best of all, went to see Phantom of the Opera. The themed hotels were fascinating. My favorite – The Luxor. Egyptian theme. I will definitely stay there next time.

I put a grand total of $12.00 into a slot machine, cashing out at $25.00. That’s right, I doubled my money in Vegas. I am one of those rare success stories.

I brought my laptop along with me, with the idea that I would spend some time every night writing so I wouldn’t fall behind. Jennifer and I have a two-chapters-per-week deal. But at the end of each 105 degree (F) day, collapsing was far more likely. Okay, maybe that is an exaggeration. Two of the days I was there actually cooled down to 98 degrees.

The point is, I didn’t get any writing done. Not in the hotel room, not on the flights. I am looking forward to seeing Jennifer on Wednesday, and I am praying that I will be able to cram two chapters in before then.

In the meantime, here are some photos of the trip… enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Michelle L. Johnson

Agent with Inklings Literary Agency, Author, and occasional wannabe comedienne. Firm believer in all things caffeinated. Represented by Jamie Bodnar Drowley.
This entry was posted in Special Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Week in Vegas

  1. Pingback: Editing, Writing and more! « Magical things. Beautiful things.

Leave a Reply

