Yo-yo dieting


Michelle and I spend a lot of time talking about food as we cook it and eat it. We’re women and we’re alive so we’ve struggled with body image and food issues. We’ve tried diets, gone off diets, gained weight, lost weight, overeaten, denied ourselves, and generally struggled for as long as we can remember. Michelle has been on and off the Atkins Diet for years. I’ve tried everything from grapefruit and liquid diets to starvation techniques.

Diets-- God help us.

When I look at pictures of us on our posts, we look healthy and happy. I wonder what our insides look like from years of yo-yo dieting. I don’t think it’s a picture as happy or healthy.

Michelle--healthy and happy

I’d like to say we overcame and gave that up years ago. But Michelle just went back on the Atkins “ for just a month or so” to drop weight quicker for an upcoming trip. She swears she’ll stop doing it once and for all when she returns to Virginia Beach.

I thought I’d won in 2006 when I shrunk my portion sizes, switched all my white foods to brown ones and incorporated more veggies. The weight fell off. But petrified I’d gain it back; I found it harder and harder to eat like a normal person. I’ve now been in therapy a year and a half, including monthly nutritional appointments. I’ve learned carbohydrates and fat are not evil, after all. The nutritionist tells me, “All foods fit.” In order to eat less processed foods though, I’ve started making my own, some of which I’m showcasing on my G.I. crockpot blog.

Jennifer--happy and healthy

I take one day at a time, one meal at a time. I went to a party yesterday, and it may have been the first time in my entire life when I filled my plate without restricting and using ridiculous, self-made rules of what I could and could not eat. AND I stopped eating when I was full. Granted, I realize eating like a “normal” person is a pretty vague statement. I follow a blog called Hello Paleo! about a couple who has chosen to eat primal from the days of the Paleolithic Age because friends of theirs swear by it for health benefits. I’m trying to rid myself of processed foods, but I haven’t gone to that extreme yet. I’m still hearing the nutritionist’s words, “All foods fit.” I have to tell myself that, each time I lift my fork.

Because Michelle is back on Atkins, we’ve found it more challenging to crock-pot. Atkins calls for meat and fat, but Michelle makes exceptions for some veggies. Last week we made Spicy Italian chicken sausages in sauerkraut. I was shocked at how delicious it was. (And you don’t have to be on a diet to eat it!) We don’t judge. 🙂

To make it in the crock-pot you’ll need:

1 can or jar of sauerkraut
1 package spicy Italian chicken sausages, or turkey sausage (cut up or whole)

Throw it in, mix it up, and turn it on low for 3-5 hours. It’s done when the meat is tender and the sauerkraut is steaming on your plate. Yum!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Jennifer

Environmentalist. Writer. Navy wife. Mama. Gardener. Crock-pot fanatic.
This entry was posted in Weekly meetings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yo-yo dieting

  1. Pingback: Shiratake Noodles – A.K.A. The Stinky Noodles | Cook Me A Story

Leave a Reply

