Writers’ Conference


Last September I went to my first writers’ conference. I had the good fortune of running into a former classmate from a memoir writing class I had taken at The Muse, who I hadn’t seen for a few months.

Jennifer.

We sat together for most of the weekend, chatting during the breaks. It was good to see her, even though she kept telling me about the bedbug outbreak. I scratched phantom bedbug bites for a week after that conference!

I learned so much that weekend about writing, publishing and agents I thought my head might explode by the end of it.

Michael Palmer speaking about adding tension to a story

This year was no different, with guest author Michael Palmer – who is a lot funnier than you would think, and a wealth of information – and Chuck Sambuchino. Chuck was also funny, and intensely focused. Agent Marisa Corvisiero was also hilarious, and interesting, not to mention charming and intelligent. All three were very easy to listen to, and my worst moments of the conference happened when two of the three were presenting in opposite rooms at the same time. Arg, I hate having to choose!

Still, all told it was an amazing experience. I met some new writers and reconnected with some old ones. Kudos to the Hampton Roads Writersfor all their hard work organizing the event, and pulling it off smoothly.

Chuck Sambuchino, Marisa Corvisiero, Judi McCoy and Michael Palmer

This year’s conference was just as full of gems as last year – but there was one thing missing.

Jennifer.

Maybe next year, hey Jenn?

Oh yes! Don’t forget to sign up to follow our blogs and our twitter to get a chance to win a copy of America’s Got Stories, Vol. I.

About Michelle L. Johnson

Agent with Inklings Literary Agency, Author, and occasional wannabe comedienne. Firm believer in all things caffeinated. Represented by Jamie Bodnar Drowley.
This entry was posted in Special Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Writers’ Conference

  1. pat says:

    I think having a writers conference would be helpful for me…if only there was one close by….I have been motivated by your blogg to check into it. Keep up the blog I can only imagine how you miss Jennifer. She is a great gal!

  2. I highly recommend it, Pat!
    We are pretty lucky here, as there are three annual conferences all within driving distance. I am sure there is one somewhere close for you to attend. I have been to two now, and both have made a huge impact on me. I have learned so much.
    Thanks for reading!

  3. Awww. That was so sweet. That crazy conference….I remember telling you that I’d stopped writing. I was overwhelmed from the memoir workshop and had put down my pencil. You were so disappointed. I remember one of your friends standing next to you saying, “Well, that’s a shame. That shouldn’t happen.”
    If I hadn’t run into you there, I would have never known about your bookshop, so that when Nancy told me she was talking classes there, I would have never put two and two together. I wouldn’t be as far into the book as I’ve written or ever started blogging.
    That crazy conference. I can say one thing. It got me writing again.
    Yeah, maybe next year!
    Thanks for teaching me so much, and for having so much faith in me. I appreciate you sooo much! Thank you doesn’t seem like a strong enough word.
    (I’m glad you had a good time this year! I bet you paid more attention because I wasn’t constantly passing you notes!)
    Yes, Aunt Pat, if you get a chance it’s a great way to learn, expand, and network. As Michelle says, you’re surrounded by experts. If you like writing, you’ll like any writing conference. I find it’s often focused on getting published, and I’m not finished writing yet, so I find it all a bit overwhelming. But as I get closer, I’m sure my ears will perk up!

  4. Pingback: The mystery beans | Cook Me A Story

Leave a Reply

