Not a good week.


Buried under boxes and “Where should I put this?” has just been too much this move. I’m usually not so overwhelmed, but this move…

I don’t even want to get out of bed in the morning. I have so much to do, so many things to go through, find a place for, get rid of, unpack, write, get back in touch with, respond to, make phone calls about. My hair’s still falling out. I just want to sleep……and eat chocolate.

Writing usually gives me a break from unpacking or the unpacking gives me a break from writing. Not so this time. I’m finding I’m dreading chapters more and more, procrastinating, putting it off. Michelle says I’ve been writing the easy and fun chapters, which is a little bit like hiding. Now it’s time to work. That’s why I started in the middle of the story instead of the beginning. Now I’m coming to the end of the story and have no choice but to go back and write the beginning. Ugh. Double ugh.

But that’s what a memoir is, right? It’s not fiction. It’s not always a fun story you get to make up as you go along, letting your favorite characters win the lottery and killing off the ones you don’t like. Writing the real life story isn’t like that. Often times the ones who get killed off shouldn’t have and no one you’ve ever heard of wins the lottery.

I’m still sticking to 2 chapters a week. It’s a deadline and a goal all in one that seems to be working. I’ll push through.

And I’m down from knocking out a room to knocking out a box. One box at a time. “It isn’t a marathon,” Michelle said to me yesterday. “What’s the hurry? Just do one box at a time.”

Sometimes, she’s so smart I think she should run for President.

(I made low-fat, whole-wheat blueberry muffins while I was waiting for Michelle to get on-line. I took the recipe off SparkRecipes submitted by NotMyOwn. As usual, I tweaked it a little. I used the full cup of whole wheat, but only 1/2 cup of wheat germ and added 1/2 cup of bran, only 1/2 the sugar the recipe called for and doubled the blueberries. They were moist and delicious.)

Blueberries. You can never really have too many...

Today I’m making a spinach, crab lasagna with white sauce for a future post on my G.I. crock pot blog. Yeah, I guess I am doing something productive, huh? :)
At least we found the spoons and we aren’t eating pizza–again. And I’m on my last chapter (of the second part of the book).
Life’s looking up. (Thanks for the positive boost Miss Michelle. I needed that.)

Keeping me "up".

And we did wear our hats this Skype session! We didn’t forget!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Jennifer

Environmentalist. Writer. Navy wife. Mama. Gardener. Crock-pot fanatic.
This entry was posted in Weekly meetings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not a good week.

  1. pat says:

    looks delicious…now how long do I bake them and at what temp. Your mom picked blueberries in Michigan and your aunt made a beautiful bllueberry pie. Blueberries are in.. now…I want to try these low fat muffins because I could use a serious low fat recipe. keep up the blog and keep on keepin on with the boxes and your chapters!

  2. Blueberries! They are so big and beautiful right now, aren’t they? Bake them at 350 for 20-25 minutes. The trick to the low-fat is using the applesauce in place of oil or butter. I like to experiment with the flour. Example: I used 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup bran and 1/2 cup wheat germ. (But you could use 2 cups whole wheat flour if you wanted.) And I mix my sugar. I like that raw brown sugar but Matt has a whole bunch of white sugar and we were trying to use it up so we mixed it, but you can use whatever kind of sugar you want. (Because you’re so sweet.)
    I use the same recipe and replace the pint of blueberries for 1 and 1/2 mashed banana and 1 cup chipped walnuts. (Those are Matt’s favorite.)
    Follow the link in this post on SparkRecipes and it will take you to the one I used. Though I tweaked it to death. I love to tweak recipes. It’s so fun.
    Actually, since I wrote this post, we ate all the blueberry ones and I made two more batches yesterday! One of each.
    I appreciate the encouragement. And I’m so glad you got to see your sista’ (s) and eat blueberry pie.
    I’m still chipping away over here. :)

Leave a Reply

