Face to face one last time


I just began to write a post for this week and realized I haven’t posted about our last face-to-face meeting!

Last meeting at Ammos

Remember the day Jennifer and I went down to the boardwalk and stopped at the cute little Greek restaurant called Ammos? We read the future in Jennifer’s coffee grounds and saw a man falling on rocks. Here’s the post.

What we didn’t tell you (largely because it was very sad) was that shortly after we went there, two people fell from their balconies in that very building. One fell through the awning and landed inches away from where Jennifer and I sat. The other landed on the patio stones. Neither survived.

We decided on our last meeting in Virginia Beach, to revisit Ammos. This time we would both order Greek coffee, and this time we would both read our fortunes. We hoped for some better news.

Michelle's giant salad

I ordered the Greek salad – one of my favorites. Jenn ordered a sampler.

Jennifer's giant sampler platter

We both thought we ordered small meals.

The waitress didn’t know how to make the Greek coffee, so she had the cook do it for her. Jennifer loved hers.

Jennifer loves Greek coffee.

Me… well, I really enjoy the coffee I make at home. I sprinkle cinnamon on top of the grounds, and it is delicious. I might have liked the Greek coffee more if it had cinnamon in it. I didn’t mind it, but probably won’t order it again.

Cinnamon in the grounds. The only way to brew.

Once the coffees were gone, we turned over the cups on the saucers, spun them three times (clockwise) and righted them. And then we read…

In her cup, Jennifer saw the Eiffel Tower. And the Abominable Snowman, (or Jabba the Hut – depending on the angle.) Also a sailboat and a volcano. We decided to translate that to a cruise to Hawaii.

I saw a Native American Tribal Chief in his traditional headdress, carrying a staff and striking it against a rock. Also,  I saw a large fish, eating a smaller fish.

Oh yes… there was one more thing.

Here are a few more photos of our last face to face:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Michelle L. Johnson

Agent with Inklings Literary Agency, Author, and occasional wannabe comedienne. Firm believer in all things caffeinated. Represented by Jamie Bodnar Drowley.
This entry was posted in Weekly meetings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Face to face one last time

  1. Of all the video…!!
    We did see some crazy stuff in those cups. I mean Jabba the Hut. Really?
    My mom saw the post about the food when I put it up a few weeks ago and said, “Michelle got such a small meal and you got all that food.” I was like, “Thanks mom.” I mean, I should have oinked, “Thanks mom.”
    It was a great day, and a great wrap up for our meet-ups. But I must say, I’m thrilled that when I see you on Skype now, it’s no different than when I went to your house! I’m so happy about that. :)
    I’m sorry you had such a hard time with the video. We did have a lot of funny stuff on there. I wish I could have helped you. Video can be so frustrating.

    • A small meal? Obviously you’ve forgotten that they put a whole brick of Feta in that salad, and the bowl was bigger than my head!

      Trying to edit the video was excrutiating a pleasant learning experience. :)

  2. Pingback: Abominable Snowman (Yeti) « Jeinrev

Leave a Reply

